Thursday, August 27, 2015

Isn't this thing done yet?

As commissioner of Gint-A-Cuffs the one thing that I dread is having to answer questions about rules.

Really.  I do.  It either shows a lack of preparation on my part, something that I didn't for see, or a glaring blind spot in my thought process. 

Sure, some of you might try to explain that away.  "Topps is off their rocker, putting all those strange parallels in Ginter."  "Look, he's got so many blogs, he can't possibly keep up with Mark's Ephemera and Gint-A-Cuffs.  Cut him some slack." 

Yeah, that's not the problem.  I'm a pleaser.  I want people to like me and the things that I do.  I want to make them happy.  And I feel that when I didn't do it correctly on the front end I've failed on some level.  I know that this isn't true, but sometimes a rules question will be posted to the comments section.  I might avoid looking at it for a day or two, just out of shame.  I don't know.  I don't get it.

Enough about me.  On to the queries.

B-Man asked:
Comish-+3 Full-Size Topps A&G Buyback 1:12 (regular base?)
+10 Base Card 10th Anniversary Parallel 1:393 (are these insert base?)
The Ginter Godfather answered:
B-Man -- The Full-Size Topps A&G Buybacks are the two cards in your box that will be stamped "10th Anniversary Issue" and will be of a design that is NOT from 2015. They can be any full-sized card from 2006-2014, including code advertisement cards!  The Base Card 10th Anniversary Parallel are 2015 base cards stamped "10th Anniversary Issue" and will be stamped with a serial-number #/10 on the back.  Hope that helps clear things up!
B-Man then replied:
indeed thank you
Look, we've got self motivated participants helping each other out.  And I didn't have to lift a finger.   Now, technically, we can't have participants spouting off rulings all willy-nilly.  That just isn't right.  But GG nailed it.  We'll go with that one.

--David started haranguing me with a few questions:

 So, regular mini red box loaders get no extra points, correct? Stated odds: 1:12
And then continued his barrage:
Another question: For RIP Cards. We get +12 for the Rip Card without ripping. Technically, we know there is a card inside, so do we get the +10 for the card inside even without ripping? ;-)
The Commissioner answered:
Regarding the "regular mini red box loaders" I have no earthly idea.  Didn't you read the front part of this post?  Thanks for pointing out another one of my shortcomings.  Seriously though, are there actually "red mini box loaders"?  Are you pulling my leg?
As far as the Rip cards go... to get the +10 for the card inside one must rip the rip card.  Without ripping you really don't know what's inside.  Ever hear of Schrödinger's cat?

About three weeks ago Judson asked:
The oversized reprints are listed in the scoring breakdown, but what about the player cabinet cards? (I pulled a cabinet card of a player on the FP list, but it is different from the oversized reprints). Thank you kindly, good sir!!!!
The Commissioner answers: has those cards listed as the "Box Loader Insert Set" of 15 cards in the checklist, with the odds being 1:3 boxes.  The card are numbered B-1 to B-15.  You're really looking for a number score for that card.  I'm going to give it a a +4 and I have updated it in the 2015 Rules.

defgav, about two weeks ago, asked:
My box's buyback mini happened to be a black border from last year. Does that black border score me any additional points, or is it the standard mini buyback points? (+4 Mini Topps A&G Buyback 1:24)  Oh, I bet would would make most sense is to get the +3 for also being Black-Bordered mini, right? as if it wasn't a buyback.
The Commissioner answers:
Good question.  The ruling is that it is +4, as stated in the rules.  It might make sense to add the +3 for being a Black-Bordered mini, but that card was issued in 2014 and is not subject to additional points.  No double dipping.

Wow, I made it through.  And it only took me two days of typing.  Note about my mini-rant at the top of the post.  First, it was a stream of consciousness type thing and not to be taken too seriously.  I'm fine and I really do like being commissioner with all that it entails.  You know, like bribery.  Second, the mini-rant is just a mini-rant.  No black borders, no flag, no nothing.  It does not score any points.

Mini rant part deux: One of the drawbacks of being the commissioner during Gint-A-Cuffs is I make it my policy to not really read the participant's blogs during the contest.  Or at least until they've turned in their final score.  I really do try to be impartial and I don't want to be tempted in a scoring issue to help nudge anyone's point total up.  You know, that whole pleaser thing.  I'll be spending some time this weekend taking a look at the goodness that is Ginter.

Thanks for playing and keep posting.

Sunday, August 16, 2015

Straight Outta..

The contest called Gint-A-Cuffs emerges from the streets of the interwebs in the late 2000s and revolutionizes card collecting culture with its strange rules and cards about life in the hood.  Or something like that.

Participants are starting to post their box totals on the Leader Board page.

Yeah, I know I've got a few questions to rule on.  Don't worry.

And I haven't even addressed the whole bribery thing.  Worry.

Saturday, August 8, 2015

The Commissioner Speaks

There have been a few questions posted about scoring and what not.  I thought that if I stalled long enough you might have forgotten about it.  Perhaps not.  So, I'll do my best.

The first few Qs and As have already been resolved in the rules.

The Ginter Godfather asked:
Yo bossman, you know base cards 301-350 aren't short printed and are not necessarily 1:2 odds, right? Minis they are, but not full sized.  Not sure if intentional or just an oversight. Happy hunting.
The Commissioner replied:
Oversight. Thanks for catching it. It has been corrected. 

Faith asked:
While the Denard Span short print example is illustrative of multiple categories, might it also be misleading since #303 isn't a short print?
The Commissioner replied:
Faith, you really know how to endear yourself to the Commissioner. That oversight has been corrected by making the Denard card a mini. Problem solved.

The Ginter Godfather then badgered:
Hey Commish, quick question.  Ancient Armory full-sized insert cards. Are they worth +2 points like every other full sized insert cards, or are you a pacifist and are protesting the insertion of weapons in Gint-A-Cuffs (a fighting-esque card competition) by declaring them worth 0 points?   Also, Keys to the City are retail only inserts.
The Commissioner testily replied:
Noted. Yes, the AA cards are worth +2 points. Sloppy editing on my part. Corrected. Also, I've removed the Keys to the City. Good eye. No bonus points for this, though.

The Ginter Godfather really got on my nerves by giddily asking:
Also, framed mini red autos seem high. 1:881 for +22 pts vs. say 10th Anniversary issue autos at 1:1375 for only +20. Thoughts on point disparity vs. odds difference?  Also, the Philae Probe mini card number is missing it's end parentheses - ) Cheers!
The Commissioner curtly replied:
Oh, I've got thoughts.
So, I should probably give this some serious answer.  The points distribution isn't purely linear.  Maybe I could have tweaked it a bit better.  This one is staying put.  Whimsy seemed to be the driving force.

Matt asked:
Question: Starting Points inserts have FP/FT bonuses attached to them as well, correct??? I would assume they are similar to base cards (+1/+4/+2) but I wanted to check because it isn't explicitly stated.
The Commissioner replied:
Matt, I've just woken up from medically induced sleep that lasted about 8 months. I don't know who wrote those rules. I'll be making some clarifications in a post soon.
And the serious answer...  Yes.  If any card features a player that is on the FP/FT list, get the points that are allotted.  Same thing on relic cards, or other hits.  Same  thing for cards of Yankees.

Judson asked:
The oversized reprints are listed in the scoring breakdown, but what about the player cabinet cards? (I pulled a cabinet card of a player on the FP list, but it is different from the oversized reprints). Thank you kindly, good sir!!!!
The Commissioner replied:
Good question. I'll be tackling that question, and others, in a post soon enough.
I've asked Judson to send me a scan of the card.  He's complied.  I'm still looking into it.  Hey, I'm doing good to answer these other questions.  No ruling yet.

defgav asked:
Do the Starting Points inserts also get the "Favorite Player" bonus? I pulled a Trout (my fav player) Starting Points card and am assuming I get the +4 for favorite player, but it's not a base card, so maybe I technically don't get the bonus?
Then defgav impatiently asked:
Also along these lines, do the "+2 Other Favorite Player list base card" apply to Starting Points as well?
The Commissioner patiently replied:
Fair question. Hang tight and an answer will be forthcoming.
Yes.  If any card features a player that is on the FP/FT list, get the points that are allotted.  Same thing on relic cards, or other hits.  Same  thing for cards of Yankees.   Are you and Matt drinking the from same Kool-Aid pitcher?

That's all I've got.  Now off to a 48 hour sleepfest.