Thursday, August 15, 2013

The Questions Keep On Coming

A new day, a new round of question.


David asked:
How about the Mini Bill Walton SP (#350)? 
The Commissioner answers:
Yeah, how about that Mini Bill Walton?  It amuses me.

J. Meeks asked:
Another question (sorry if I'm stupid): Does the Bill Walton Mini #350 count the same as #100? Gracias! 
The Commissioner answers:
Ah, I see.  There are two Bill Walton cards in the set.  That was foolish of Topps.  I am ruling that only the mini Bill Walton (card #100) will get bonus points.  The Mini Bill Walton SP (card # 350) gets the standard +3 bonus for being a SP.  No, you're not stupid.  De nada.


Chris asked:
Just to clarify, is the Yankee penalty cumulative? For example, if I pull a SP Yankee or an Across the Years Yankee, do I get 2 points for the SP or insert and then subtract one point for a total of 1 point, or do I just get a flat out -1 points with no modifiers? I had been scoring it as getting credit for the SP or insert status, but I have seen others score it as a flat -1 for it being a Yankee. 

The Commissioner answers:
Good question.  This trips participants up every year.  It is a cumulative modifier.  Let's say you pull a Yogi Berra (card #327) base card.  This is a Short Print.  You would score + 2 points for the SP and -1 point for Yogi being a Yankee.

The Ginter Godfather asked:
In years past they were cumulative (At least that is how the winner of last year won, he counted a Mantle WIN as -1, but ended up with a +1 net from it to edge out the competition by 2. Looking for clarification on this as well. 
The Commissioner answers: 
Yes, last year's winner was decided in the way that GG described.  It is cumulative again this year.

2 comments:

  1. Lesson learned. Asking the GAC Commissioner is akin to asking for wishes from a genie: wording is everything.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ah, young grasshopper. You are learning. Now watch this.

      Delete